The Jackson County Visitor Center is located in a historic railroad freight house that was built in 1905. Part of a network of rail lines and depots owned by John Walsh, a Chicago banker and a Bedford, Indiana native with ties to the limestone industry, the depot is a classic example of industrial transportation architecture. Located on approximately an acre and adjacent to downtown Seymour on land in the original plat, the freight house was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in June 22, 2003.
The railroad has a very rich history in Seymour and Jackson County and, at times, a shady one. It was here in October 1866 that members of the Reno Gang committed the first moving train robbery. Near the location of the freight house, three of the gang boarded the O & M train and robbed the Adam’s Express Messenger of between $12,000 and $18,000. The secret of the gang's ill-gotten gains in multiple robberies remains a mystery. The Reno brothers died in 1868 after they were caught and arrested and are buried in the old Seymour Cemetery.